NASW offers a number of credentials specific to your area of practice.  For more information on any of the credentials listed below, click here.


  • Academy of Certified Social Workers (ACSW)
    • Ideal for the experienced macro professional
    • Great for the MSW generalist
  • Diplomate in Clinical Social Work (DCSW)
    • Suited for advanced clinicians
    • Excellent for private practitioners
  • Qualified Clinical Social Worker (QCSW)
    • Fitting for entry-level clinicians
    • Selected by a new private practitioner
  • NASW Credentialing Center Frequently Asked Questions

Specialty Certifications for the MSW

  • Clinical Social Worker in Gerontology (CSW-G)  
    Geared for clinical social workers who work directly with older adults.
  • Advanced Social Worker in Gerontology (ASW-G) 
    Distinguishes macro-administrative social workers in the field of aging.
  • Certified Advanced Children, Youth, and Family Social Worker (C-ACYFSW)
    Highlights social workers who promote the well-being of children and families.
  • Certified Social Worker in Health Care (C-SWHC)
    Distinguishes social workers in a multi-disciplinary healthcare environment.
  • Certified Clinical Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs Social Worker (C-CATODSW)
    Recognizes highly trained social workers in the substance abuse field.
  • Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager (C-ASWCM)
    Establishes social workers as professionals in a variety of work settings.
  • Certified School Social Work Specialist (C-SSWS)
    Identifies social workers who specialize within a school system.

Specialty Certifications for the BSW

  • Social Worker in Gerontology (SW-G)
    Recognizes care and case management professionalism in work with older adults.
  • Certified Children, Youth, and Family Social Worker (C-CYFSW)
    Gives credibility to professionally trained children, youth, and family social workers.
  • Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM)
    Highlights the professional standing of social workers.